DATABASES

A
ACADEMIC SEARCH PRIMIER
Leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.   [EBSCO]

AFRICAN AMERICAN HERITAGE
Search thousands of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos and maps on millions of topics.

ALLDATA Online *in library use only*
This database is a source of automotive OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) information. ALLDATA provides diagnostic and repair information from vehicle manufacturers.

ALT HEALTHWATCH
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.   [EBSCO]

AMERICAN AND ENGLISH LITERATURE COLLECTIONS
Electronic books of American and English literature: poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible. For more information, see the Basic Search and Advanced Search tutorial videos.

ANCESTRY LIBRARY EDITION *in library use only*
Trace your genealogy using historical records. U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. You must be in the library to access this database.

B
BIOGRAPHY REFERENCE BANK
In-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators.   [EBSCO]

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER
Boost your business knowledge by researching company and industry profiles, country and market research reports, and magazine articles.   [EBSCO]

C
CHILTON LIBRARY
Fix your car, truck, van, or SUV with these diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, and step-by-step repair procedures.

CLEVELAND NECROLOGY FILE
The Cleveland Necrology File contains local cemetery records and newspaper death notices for the following years: 1833, 1847-1848, 1850-1975. A more complete description of the file’s contents can be found in the about section of the database. For necrology information after 1975, please use the Cleveland News Index

CLEVELAND NEWS INDEX
The online Cleveland News Index lists citation information for local news stories, feature articles and reviews from The Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999), Cleveland Magazine (1983-present), Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990-June 2009), and Ohio Magazine (Oct.1990 -present). Obituaries from the Plain Dealer and the Cleveland Press are included from 1976 to the present. Please note that this index does not provide full text access to these sources

COMPUTER SOURCE
Full-text database covering computing, technology, and engineering disciplines. It is especially useful to researchers studying the business and social implications of new technology.   [EBSCO]

CONSUMER HEALTH REPORT
Browse medical, health-related, and drug reference books. Read articles on health and fitness. Find sources for alternative health information.   [EBSCO]

CONSUMER REPORTS ​ ​
Search Consumer Reports magazine for full text articles from 1991 to the present. Find product evaluations, articles on public safety, health, marketplaces, and legal decisions that affect consumers

E

EBSCO HOST
Search thousands of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos and maps on millions of topics.

EARLY WORLD OF LEARNING
Three interactive learning environments for preschoolers and children in early grades.   [World Book]

ERIC
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.   [EBSCO]

EXPLORA
Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.   [EBSCO]

EXPLORA PRIMARY SCHOOL
A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.   [EBSCO]

EXPLORA SECONDARY SCHOOL (Grades 6-12)
A far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.   [EBSCO]

F
FOLD3 HISTORY AND GENEALOGY ARCHIVES
A premier collection of historical U.S. military records that brings to life the details of America’s military veterans with stories, photos, and personal documents.

G
GALE LEGAL FORMS
Provides a wide selection of Ohio legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in easy to understand language.

GOVINFO
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

H
HEALTH SOURCE: CONSUMER EDITION
Rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.   [EBSCO]

HEALTH SOURCE: NURSING/ACADEMIC EDITION
full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.   [EBSCO]

HERITAGEQUEST
Search census records, books, serials, and other historical records to trace your genealogy.

HOBBIES AND CRAFTS REFERENCE CENTER
Find “how-to” instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.

HOME IMPROVEMENT REFERENCE CENTER
Home Improvement Reference Center features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects.

K
KIDS INFOBITS
Kids InfoBits is an easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. The modern design and simple navigation make it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching.

L
LITERARY REFERENCE CENTER
Research an author, novel, or poem for school or personal interest. Learn more about a literary movement for book discussions.  [EBSCO]

LYNDA.COM
Self-directed online learning for technology, business, and creative skills. Access more than 12,000 video courses taught by industry experts to help you stay ahead in your current job or change careers.

M
MORNINGSTAR INVESTMENTS
Users of this resource may have issues downloading PDF reports. The vendor is working on a fix. Morningstar Investment Research Center provides independent, in-depth research and recommendations on 11,000 stocks, 24,000 mutual funds, and 950 exchange traded funds. The format is user-friendly and includes an investment education section
N
NEWSPAPER SOURCE
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.   [EBSCO]

NOVELIST PLUS
Novelist Plus helps readers of all ages or those who help readers find fiction and non-fiction books they will enjoy. Using simple search techniques, find helpful resources such as expert reading recommendations, read-alikes, book discussion guides, thematic book lists and more

NOVELIST PLUS: K-8
Novelist K-8 helps librarians, teachers, parents, and other adults who care about children in grades K-8 find fiction and non-fiction books to read tailored to their reading level and interests. Or, kids can try it themselves to help them select books they will enjoy. Using simple search techniques, find helpful resources such as expert reading recommendations, read-alikes, book discussion guides, thematic book lists and more.

O
OHIO OBITUARY INDEX
An index to over 3,500,000 obituaries, death and marriage notices, and other sources from Ohio from the 1810s to the present day. Actual obits may be ordered from over 60 partner libraries; only Hayes Library has online ordering.

OHIO DEAD RECORDS INDEX SEARCH
Death certificate information from the Ohio Historical Society including Ohio Department of Health Death Certificates (1913-1944, 1954-1963), Ohio Department of Health Stillborn Death Certificates (1913-1935, 1942-1953), and Columbus Board of Health Death Certificates (1904-1908). [Copies of the death certificates can be obtained for a fee.]

OHIO MEANS JOBS
Website lists job openings in Ohio, as well as offers tools and resources to help explore career paths.

OHIO MEMORY
The collaborative statewide digital library program of the Ohio History Connection and the State Library of Ohio. On this free website, you can explore digital content from over 365 cultural heritage institutions representing all 88 of Ohio’s counties!

OHIOLINE
Ohioline is an information resource produced by Ohio State University Extension. Through Ohioline, you have access to hundreds of OSU Extension fact sheets covering a wide array of subjects such as agriculture and natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, and 4-H youth development.

OXFORD RESEARCH ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Reference content in humanities, social sciences, and science.

P
POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER
Contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this resource provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.   [EBSCO]

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COLLECTION
A highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.   [EBSCO]

PSYCHOLOGY & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES COLLECTION
An essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.   [EBSCO]

R
REFERENCE USA
Directory information for 11 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. Search for businesses by SIC code, sales volume number of employees and more. Search for residence directory information by name, location or phone number

RELIGION & PHILOSOPHY COLLECTION
This database is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies, providing a full-text source of content pertaining to the topics related to and discussed in disciplines of religion and philosophy.   [EBSCO]

S
SANBORN FIRE INSURANCE MAPS
Find large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods. Study the growth of towns and cities, and the impact of new development.

SCIENCE REFERENCE CENTER
Designed to meet every student researcher’s needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.   [EBSCO]

SMALL BUSINESS REFERENCE CENTER
Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.   [EBSCO]

T
TRANSPARENT LANGUAGES
Learn to speak a new language. Over 100 foreign language courses are available that can help you learn languages including French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, and Mandarin Chinese. There’s also an ESL component that provides English language learning to speakers of over 25 different languages.
W
WORLD BOOK
Information resources for pre-school through college.

WORLD BOOK KIDS
Thousands of colorful illustrations, diagrams, and maps enrich thousands of articles, with teacher guides.

WORLD BOOK STUDENTS
Contains an extensive multimedia collection, including editor-selected websites, and correlations to state standards.

WORLD BOOK SPANISH
This dedicated Spanish-language database contains videos, compare-and-contrast features, selected articles, and a visual dictionary to allow ESL students and Spanish-learners the chance to learn. Integrated with World Book Kids for parallel English-language content.

WORLD BOOK TIMELINES
Build and share timelines. Use your own events and images or add content and images from World Book.

WORLDCAT
The world’s most comprehensive bibliography with 40 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information back to the 11th Century. Includes holdings information from the world’s libraries.   [OCLC]